The Seven Seals of Revelation Project.

 

Iv just finished my final year of studying illustration and I would like to share with you my lino prints, from my final project I was inspired by the book of revelations in the bible and decided to focus on the seven seals. instead of taking a literal approach  I decided to do it more as representation for the first four prints for the horseman.

 

 

Revelation 6:1-2. I watched as the Lamb opened the first of the seven seals. Then I heard one of the four living creatures say in a voice like thunder,“Come!” I looked, and there before me was a white horse! Its rider held a bow, and he was given a crown, and he rode out as a conqueror bent on conquest.

This is my first print which represents the horseman that comes to conquer for this I thought of a king with a crown and flag looking very arrogant because he has just won a battle and is set out to conquer the land.

 

Revelation 6:3-4 When the Lamb opened the second seal, I heard the second living creature say, “Come!” Then another horse came out, a fiery red one.Its rider was given power to take peace from the earth and to make people kill each other. To him was given a large sword.

For the second seal I represented war as a battle between good and evil. The evil red devil is representing the fiery red horseman that’s taking over the good to take peace from the earth and to make people kill each other in wars etc. The black armoured character represent the good going out in to battle to fight the bad. I also like to interpret it as the spiritual battle and the demons we have to face within ourselves. The shadowy effect in front of the armoured man acts as his aura as to show he has a power and presence against the red demon.

 

Revelation 6:5-6 When the Lamb opened the third seal, I heard the third living creature say, “Come!” I looked, and there before me was a black horse! Its rider was holding a pair of scales in his hand.Then I heard what sounded like a voice among the four living creatures, saying, “Two pounds of wheat for a day’s wages, and six pounds of barley for a day’s wages, and do not damage the oil and the wine!”

For this seal I interpreted it as there being a shortage of food and money and so i created an image of beggar in a post apocalyptic wasteland. this showing just how little resources he has to survive .

 

Revelation 6:8 I looked, and there before me was a pale horse! Its rider was named Death, and Hades was following close behind him. They were given power over a fourth of the earth to kill by sword, famine and plague, and by the wild beasts of the earth.

For this seal I kept it simple by using the symbol of the crow for death the red lines acting as fire and the shadow being deaths shadow.

 

Revelation 6:9 When he opened the fifth seal, I saw under the altar the souls of those who had been slain because of the word of God and the testimony they had maintained.
They called out in a loud voice, “How long, Sovereign Lord, holy and true, until you judge the inhabitants of the earth and avenge our blood?”
Then each of them was given a white robe, and they were told to wait a little longer, until the full number of their fellow servants, their brothers and sisters, were killed just as they had been.

for this seal I pictured the martyrs in white robes looking up to show they are wanting god to answer them the texture makes it seem as if the lords light is raining on them.

 

 

6th-seal-earthquake-web

Revelation 6:12: I watched as he opened the sixth seal. There was a great earthquake.

For the earthquake print I wanted to make it stand out a bit more so i added the texture to the ground and made the lines a bit more wobbly to create it looking a bit hypnotic and eye catching  for the audience.

 

6th-seal-eclipse-web-

Revelation 6:12: The sun turned black like sackcloth made of goat hair.

the sun I  made simple on a black background I added the red in the sun to make it stand out a bit more.

 

6th-seal-red-moon-web

Revelation 6:12 the whole moon turned blood red,  and the stars in the sky fell to earth, as figs drop from a fig tree when shaken by a strong wind.

I done this simple as well to keep consistent with the sun. I choose to have the stars falling at a side angle instead of straight down so they looked more like shooting stars and less like rain.

 

7th-seal-a4 web

Revelation 8:4 The smoke of the incense, together with the prayers of God’s people, went up before God from the angel’s hand. Then the angel took the censer, filled it with fire from the altar, and hurled it on the earth; and there came peals of thunder,rumblings, flashes of lightning and an earthquake.

For the final seal I focused on the angel in front of the alter offering up the incense and prayers of gods people. i showed the fire in the bowl and the hands representing praying the angel with his hands open has got lighting bolts coming from his hands representing the thunder and lightning to come on the earth. I think the red and black brings the image together and makes it look more menacing and bold.

Leave a Reply

